Site
Sponsor

The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness

Health Category
Lose Weight Today!
Sort By:
Displaying: 38 articles
Posted Thu, May 19, 2022
All artificial sweeteners, including aspartame, sucralose, saccharin, neotame, advantame, and acesulfame potassium-k, interfere with the normal and healthy activity of gut bacteria.
Posted Fri, May 13, 2022
The Food Industry is quick to pick up on rising trends and then capitalize on them, but not always in honest ways.
Posted Thu, May 12, 2022
There are many vitamins and nutrients needed for your body to function as it should.
Posted Wed, May 04, 2022
The 2022 Shopper’s Guide for Produce from the Environmental Working Group is out.
Posted Thu, Apr 28, 2022
The Plant Based non-meat “meat” industry is taking off as many proponents of a greener planet argue that eliminating the beef industry will save the planet.
Posted Wed, Apr 20, 2022
Mainstream medicine and media continue to express uncertainty regarding the use of aspirin to protect against cardiovascular disease.
Posted Thu, Apr 07, 2022
Food allergies and food sensitivities are not the same thing. Traditional allergists generally rely on food allergy testing only, which is also what is taught in medical school as the standard protocol.
Posted Wed, Mar 30, 2022
Root Cause of Disease by Mila McManus MD of The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness
Posted Wed, Mar 23, 2022
Global markets for collagen supplements have grown by double digits for the last three years.
Posted Wed, Mar 09, 2022
Mistletoe (aka Viscum Album) is the most studied plant used for alternative and complementary cancer therapies.
Posted Thu, Mar 03, 2022
We expect our food to be what it says on the ingredient label. We assume the gasoline we put in our cars is not watered down.
Posted Thu, Feb 24, 2022
One of the most frequent questions I get as the staff nutritionist is about protein powders and green superfood powders.
Posted Wed, Feb 16, 2022
Haven’t found the perfect solution for better sleep and less anxiety yet? DHH-B, sourced from the bark, leaves, and flowers of the houpo magnolia tree, may give you the relief you seek!
Posted Thu, Feb 10, 2022
Our medical staff strongly urges adults and children to avoid sports drinks. As indicated below, most individuals can adequately hydrate with filtered, clean water!
Posted Wed, Feb 02, 2022
Effective, January 1, 2022, The USDA, through The National Bioengineered Food Disclosure law requires all food manufacturers to disclose if genetically modified ingredients are in their products.
Posted Wed, Jan 26, 2022
Traditional medicine and modern research are claiming that fulvic acid (FvA) can modulate the immune system and influence the oxidative status of cells.
Posted Wed, Jan 05, 2022
The human body needs routine maintenance now more than ever. While a targeted effort at detoxification may have been optional in decades past, it is essential in our toxic times for anyone desiring to obtain or maintain optimal health, sustain s...
Posted Wed, Dec 29, 2021
Recognizing that we don’t live in a perfect world, and that alcohol consumption is a real component of many holiday celebrations, below you’ll find some recommendations to help protect your brain and liver from alcohol toxicity while still enjoy...
Posted Thu, Dec 23, 2021
Controlling carbohydrates is critical to weight loss, reducing inflammation, and managing all disease models
Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2021
The Journal of the American Medical Association [JAMA] published results of a 2019 study which assessed the association between functional medicine and patient-reported
Posted Sun, Nov 28, 2021
Mushrooms are proving to be a highly medicinal food and are now often found on the ingredient list for many supplements and protein powders
Posted Thu, Nov 18, 2021
Understanding allergies can be difficult because they are complex! You may want to believe it is simple, such as, “if I eat x, it causes y”. Or if you are exposed to pollen or dust, it makes your nose run.
Posted Thu, Nov 04, 2021
Have other weight loss protocols failed? Did you find HCG to be too strict? Was KETO too difficult to follow? This protocol has been FDA approved for weight loss!
Posted Thu, Nov 04, 2021
Proteolytic Enzymes, or Protease, is a supplement which serves multiple purposes that support the immune system and all inflammatory processes.
Posted Wed, Oct 20, 2021
Metabolomix+ is a urinary nutritional evaluation that includes key organic acids, oxalates, and amino acids to evaluate the functional need for antioxidants, B-vitamins, minerals, digestive support, and amino acids
Posted Wed, Oct 13, 2021
Recently we were introduced to two studies about Stevia and its possible negative effect on gut bacteria, glucose intolerance, and diet- induced obesity.
Posted Thu, Oct 07, 2021
Prolotherapy is a non-surgical treatment used to stimulate growth factors in the human body and thus promote the body’s natural healing process.
Posted Wed, Sep 15, 2021
Losing hair has to be at the top of the list of “scariest things” for a woman. Hair growth has 3 phases: the growth phase, resting phase, and shedding phase.
Posted Thu, Sep 09, 2021
When the body is invaded by a foreign substance like a virus or bacteria, the immune system rallies one of its earliest lines of defense, helper T cells, to join the fight.
Posted Wed, Sep 01, 2021
This protocol has been FDA approved for weight loss! Semaglutide slows gastric emptying which helps stabilize blood sugar but also reduces cravings and hunger
Posted Thu, Aug 26, 2021
COVID and the flu will continue to be with us for now, so I wanted to remind everyone to please support your immune system and overall health to avoid bad outcomes. I recommend a foundational daily minimum of vitamin D3, a multivitamin, and a qu...
Posted Wed, Jul 21, 2021
Ensuring you are getting adequate sources of collagen is important as an anti-aging strategy as well as an immune building strategy! Your gastro-intestinal tract and skin barrier are two critical organ systems essential for protecting your body ...
Posted Wed, Jun 30, 2021
Dementia, especially Alzheimer’s, is on the rise. Establishing a baseline of your cognition allows for early detection of trouble to come, and also can alleviate fears of Alzheimer’s.
Posted Mon, Jun 14, 2021
Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide (NAD+) is the active form of a coenzyme that is an essential component of chemical reactions that occur in all of our cells. These reactions regulate nearly every bodily process.
Posted Thu, Jun 10, 2021
As the warmer months approach, make sure you are ready to properly protect your family’s and your skin from the sun. Sunscreens can be some of the most toxic substances to put on your skin.
Posted Mon, Jun 07, 2021
A Nobel Prize was awarded for the discovery that Nitric Oxide (NO) plays a significant role in the cardiovascular system.
Posted Thu, May 27, 2021
We tend to not think about our bone health until we break one. , but maybe we should. Authored by Mila McManus MD and Nancy Mehlert MS
Posted Mon, Jun 03, 2019
I began learning about the miracles of stem cell therapy several years ago at a functional medicine conference.