Lone Star College students recognized as semifinalists for prestigious scholarship

By: Bill Van Rysdam
| Published 02/24/2021


HOUSTON, TX – The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation announced 15 Lone Star College students were recognized as semifinalists for its highly competitive Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship.

“Lone Star College had far and away more semifinalists named than any other college in Texas,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “This level of achievement is not only a testament to our students, but also to our faculty and staff who are helping prepare these remarkable scholars.”

The 15 LSC semifinalists are:


• Brayan Gutierrez
• Brianna Jarvis


• Mariana Gracia Leon
• Alejandra Rodriguez Quevedo

LSC-North Harris

• Daysi Duarte Benito
• Annie Huynh
• Hayden Nguyen


• Rachel Aquino
• Elise Chouinard
• Roberto Morales Quintero
• Kathryn Price

LSC-University Park

• Fizza Afreen
• Cady Gibbs
• Jean-Paul Gazzaneo-Duarte

Finalists receive up to $40,000 per year for up to three years to cover a substantial share of educational expenses including tuition, living expenses, books and required fees. They also receive all-inclusive educational advising from Foundation staff to guide them through the processes of transitioning to a four-year school and preparing them for their careers.

Nearly 1,500 students from 398 community colleges applied for the 2021 Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship with 406 named semifinalists. The Foundation evaluated each submission based on students’ academic ability and achievement, financial need, persistence, leadership and service to others.

Of the 15 LSC semifinalists, 13 also receive LSC scholarship assistance including scholarships through LSC Foundation. In all, 22 LSC students have been awarded the Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship since 2012.

Scholars will also have the opportunity for internships, study abroad programs, and graduate school funding, as well as a connection to a thriving network of over 2,700 fellow Cooke scholars and alumni.

Comments •
Log In to Comment