Site Sponsor

Carol Mann, Mickey Wright and Babe Zaharias Receive 2021 Dave Marr Award at Insperity Invitational

By: Chris Dornan
| Published 05/02/2021


THE WOODLANDS, TX -- Three women who in their own ways embody the pillars of the game of golf – Carol Mann, Mickey Wright and Babe Zaharias – were honored with the prestigious Dave Marr Award at this week’s Insperity Invitational presented by UnitedHealthcare in The Woodlands, TX.

Known as The Ambassador, The Natural and The Athlete, the three members of the World Golf Hall of Fame received the prestigious award for exemplifying the traits Mr. Marr lived by on and off the golf course – sportsmanship, honesty, integrity and a passion for the game.

Mann, whose career spanned throughout the 1960’s and 70s, is a winner of 38 LPGA TOUR events with two of the first three being majors. A television broadcaster and golf instructor for hundreds of enthusiasts, her impact on the game extended far beyond the course. A female pioneer in the golf business, Mann was known as the “First Lady of Golf” – being the first woman to do course design and create a management company.

Mickey Wright turned professional in 1955 after her education at Stanford University. The year she sparked a remarkable career that included 13 wins before the 1950’s were complete. She chalked up six victories in 1960 followed by four straight seasons where she racked up double digit wins each season. Between 1961 and 1964, “The Natural” changed the face of the LPGA TOUR winning 44 events including eight majors. She held all four major titles at the same time in 1962 – a feat that has not been duplicated since. She retired in 1969 at the age of 34 with 82 victories.

Babe Zaharias rounded out the trio of 2021 recipients. Recognized as one of the greatest athletes to play the game, the triple Olympic medallist began her golf career by winning three majors and was the first American woman to win the women’s British Amateur Championship. After turning pro, the talented multi-sport athlete, won seven more majors and in 1950 she became the first woman to own all three majors of that era in the same year. She was the first woman to compete against the men on the PGA TOUR and twice made the cut. One of the founding 12 women responsible for forming the LPGA TOUR, Zaharias passed away in 1956 in Galveston, Texas following a six-year battle with cancer.

“These three women are true legends of our sport. They are pioneers for women’s golf and have all played a critical role in the growth of the game while doing so with humility and integrity,” said Bryan Naugle, Executive Director, Insperity Invitational – who was a Dave Marr Award recipient himself in 2013. “I know Dave Marr would be very proud of what these three inspiring women have accomplished, and we definitely are too.”

The Dave Marr award was created in 1999 and has been a staple of the PGA TOUR Championship event in The Woodlands. Over the last two decades a prestigious list of winners, who have done remarkable things both on the golf course, and in their communities, have been recognized during tournament week. The history rich list of recipients includes: Arnold Palmer, Miller Barber, Don January, Ben Crenshaw, Larry Nelson, Tom Watson, Fuzzy Zoeller, Lee Trevino, Curtis Strange, Barbara Nicklaus, Bernhard Langer, and Tom Lehman

Comments •
Log In to Comment