Rodeo Awards 70 Texas FFA Members with $1.4 Million in Scholarships

By: Brittany Rader
| Published 07/13/2022


HOUSTON, TX -- Seventy Texas FFA members representing 58 FFA chapters from across Texas were presented with $1.4 million in scholarships from the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo during the 94th Annual Texas FFA State Convention in Fort Worth, Texas, on Wednesday, July 13.

Scholarship recipients were selected by Texas FFA officials based on the students’ involvement with the program, academic and FFA achievements and financial need, as well as the FFA member’s performance in an interview process. Each scholarship recipient will receive a $20,000 scholarship from the Rodeo to apply toward a four-year undergraduate degree at a Texas college or university of their choice.

“These FFA scholarships tie directly back to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo’s mission of promoting agriculture and supporting Texas youth and education, and we are so proud to support these students’ academic journeys,” said Chris Boleman, Rodeo president and CEO. “Many of these FFA scholars will actually go on to pursue a career that promotes agriculture, which makes these scholarships particularly meaningful to us at the Rodeo.”

The top four schools these students will be attending are Texas A&M University, Tarleton State University, Texas Tech University and West Texas A&M University. Of the 70 FFA scholarship recipients, the top four majors include Animal Science, Agricultural Business, Agricultural Engineering and Agricultural Communications.

The Texas FFA Association was chartered in 1929 and contributes to a model of secondary agricultural education in which students take part in classroom instruction and supervised agricultural experiences.

The FFA is an integral part of the school’s agricultural science program, guided by FFA’s mission to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

These 70 FFA scholarships represent a portion of the Rodeo’s annual commitment of more than $22 million to support Texas youth and statewide educational programs in 2022. Additional information about the Rodeo’s educational commitment can be found here.

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo promotes agriculture by hosting an annual, family-friendly experience that educates and entertains the public, supports Texas youth, showcases Western heritage and provides year-round educational support within the community. Since its beginning in 1932, the Rodeo has committed more than $550 million to the youth of Texas and education. The 2023 Rodeo is scheduled for Feb. 28 – March 19. The 2023 World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest, presented by Cotton Holdings, is scheduled for Feb. 23 – 25. For more information, visit and connect with #RODEOHOUSTON online via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for all the latest news.

Listed by FFA Chapter, as of July 13, 2022

Abernathy FFA
Charlee Chambers
Cash Martin

Ag Science & Tech Academy FFA
Calista Martinez

Anna FFA
Hannah Price

Anson FFA
Mason Hagler

Aspermont FFA
Payton Potts

Aubrey FFA
Heather Hough

Ballinger FFA
Grace Hoelscher

Bells FFA
Annie Fallon

Bellville FFA
Samantha Diezi
Morgan Hesters
Kylee Svinky

Brownwood FFA
Rylah Morgan

Burnet FFA
Jordon Erickson

Burton FFA
Tanna Thiel

Bushland FFA
Landon Bogan

College Station FFA
Braden Stutts

Decatur FFA
Reagan Staab
Hayden Taylor

Eastland FFA
Kynnley Herrington
Emily Zamora

Flatonia FFA
Karli Siptak

Florence FFA
Bryce Fisher

Floresville FFA
Karina Lyssy

Fredericksburg FFA
Faith Geistweidt

Garrison FFA
Rylee Blacksher

Gilmer FFA
Joseph Nelson
Sarah Warden

Harmony FFA
Katelyn Perryman

Harper FFA
Emily Seewald
Kylie Wolsey

Haskell FFA
Piper Smith

Hico FFA
Elizabeth Barr

Jacksboro FFA
Kobe Thomas

Jourdanton FFA
Aiden Guzman
Madilyn Vick

Judson FFA
Vanessa Bell

Kaufman FFA
Kylie Hartley

Klondike FFA
David Boschman

La Vernia FFA
William Secrest

Lindsay FFA
Stephen Fuhrmann

Livingston FFA

Kaylie Campbell

Madisonville FFA
Mackenzie Foster

Marion FFA
Kyla Beck
Trenton Mills

Medina Valley FFA
Hannah Vierling
Kiley Winkler

New Caney FFA
Shelbi Loving

Perrin FFA
Tyce Lambert

Poteet FFA
Julia Smith

Riesel FFA
Wyatt Drews

Royal FFA
Alondra Melendez

Samuel Clemens – Cibolo Creek FFA
Laney Ferrell

Santo FFA
Michael Tallant

Seminole FFA
Zoee Nolen

Sinton FFA
Landon Southern

Snyder FFA
Avery Schiffner

Spring Branch FFA
John Perez

Stamford FFA
Tylee Bevel

Sweetwater FFA
Addison Page

Taylor – Katy FFA
Zoe BeDell
Kristen Justilian

Tilden FFA
Charity Harris
Makenzie Sherrer

Tomball FFA
Garrett Rucker

Tomball Memorial FFA
Owen Parker

Troy FFA
Taylor Melikan

Veribest FFA
Connor Pence

Weimar FFA
Dondrae Carter

Wellington FFA

Madison Waters

Comments •
Log In to Comment